Pineapple Cucumber Salsa

The last time we ate at Moe’s they had added a pineapple cucumber salsa to their salsa bar.  Tony tried it and liked it.  Since we are growing cucumbers in our garden he wanted me to try to make this salsa for us at home.

I searched online for some recipes and nothing seemed to be exactly what I wanted so I came up with this one:

1 1/2 cup finely chopped pineapple (or 1 can of crushed pineapple)
1 cup finely chopped peeled cucumber (no seeds!)
1 clove minced garlic
2 jalapeno peppers, finely chopped
1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
the juice of two small limes – about 1/4 cup
some fresh or dried cilantro to taste
lime zest to taste…probably about 1/2-1 tsp
2 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
Add more sugar, salt, cilantro, lime, etc based on your preference.
Combine all ingredients and let marinate in refrigerator.
Pineapple Cucumber Salsa
Before serving blend up with an immersion blender if you prefer a smoother salsa.
Blended Pineapple Cucumber Salsa
 Now I’m wondering if I can make it and can it like I do my peach salsa!
Do you love pineapple?  Check out this post on How to Make Dried Pineapple!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Chicken composting | Chantelle's Adventures
  2. CC

    I also tasted the salsa at Moes and loved it. I went back a purchased some. I am thinking it would be wonderful on grilled chicken or chicken bites or meatballs as an appetizer. Not sure how to use it. Does anyone have any ideas??

    Like

Leave a comment