The Path to Homeschooling

We have decided to homeschool.  I do feel that God has taken me on an extraordinary journey to get me here! I grew up wanting to go to college and make lots of money. I graduated high school and started college as a sophomore because I took classes at the local university while in highschool, did every AP class available in my highschool and took CLEP tests for subjects we didn’t offer. I finished in 3 years (first college grad on my mom’s side), went to work, found a way to get into financial planning, got my CFP(R) and was on my way. That is what I wanted. However, 3.5 years into our marriage, I found out I was pregnant. We weren’t planning that, Tony was back in school finishing up his second degree. I was working very hard to build my financial planning practice.

Things changed. God changed me over time. I no longer wanted the demanding career with the big paycheck. (though I do miss that paycheck sometimes!) I never planned to have 3 kids. I never thought I would wear flip flops in public! I certainly never planned to teach preschoolers. But I learned how to do lesson plans and implement them and manage a classroom and all of these things have brought me to where we are and without these 3 years experience of teaching preschool I don’t know if I would have had the confidence to do this. God is good, all the time and I know he has brought me down this crazy, unplanned path for this reason.

But it is scary.

Scary to think we will not teach them something they need to know. But God is good, all the time, and I believe His grace will help me to make sure they get everything they need.

Scary to think that I will not get a regular break from my kids, when I so love my alone time. but God is good, all the time, and I believe he will give me what I need. Little moments of solitude, like right now they have been playing, without arguing for at least 30 minutes while I have been typing this.

Scary to think that I am not officially trained in teaching a child to read and I have to teach Zeke! But God is good, all the time, and I have found a book that explains a kid friendly method that I think will help me teach him how to read! (More on this later!)

Scary to think that we might do this through high school and then I will have to teach physics (which my physics teacher didn’t teach me b/c she was having a nervous breakdown and we sat outside and read books all year) but God is good, all the time, and there are tutors if I can’t do it!

Scary to think that I will give up on God and not stay in His will. This is why we are homeschooling.

Thanks to all of you who are praying for us and me as we embark on this journey!

One comment

  1. Terri

    Chantelle, If anyone can do this, you can. It’s amazing how what we want for ourselves changes after kids! I am excited for you.For Zeke’s reading, try the Bob Books series. They were recommended to us by Eileigh’s Montessori teacher and we have been reading them to her, with her following with her finger, then she gradually started reading them more and more until it just clicked and she is reading now!! Starting Kindergarten next month.I think of you and your journey often! Praying for your wisdom and patience!Love, Terri

    Like

Leave a Reply

